Why is there a ban on gay marriage?

December 12, 2009

This has been bugging me for some time. I do not understand WHY there are bans on gay marriage. It has to be against some constitutional right(s), right? So, I did a little research and all of the results about bans on gay marriage pointed me to the 14th Amendment. You know, the one that states:

No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Isn’t banning gay marriage a deprivation of life, liberty, AND property? I am completely and utterly confused. How is it legal for a state to do something to its citizens that is unconstitutional? If bans on gay marriage are acceptable, why don’t states just start enslaving African Americans again? It’s free labor.

That’s a rhetorical question. Please, States of the United States, PLEASE, do not enslave African Americans again … I couldn’t take working in a field, picking fruit or any other purposes that may be thought up!

Anyway … my point is:

I have an idea to fix this whole gay marriage ban issue … but I do not want to exploit gay people for a cause. But, I’m going to let my plan out either way.

I think it’d be a good idea to organize a group of gay people who want to marry, in all of the states with bans on marriage to go to their state marriage licensing boards place to get licenses to marry in their states. If/when they are disallowed have them, they sue their states & the U.S.A. for violating their 14th Amendment rights (Equal Protection of the law and Due Process) in a class action lawsuit. All they’d need is a lawyer who’d take the case!

Good idea? Yes? No? Maybe?

Comment, Critique, Share of yourself. Namaste.

